Ottawa bursary honours Stevens Racing p/b The Cyclery riders

Ariane Bonhomme
Ariane Bonhomme
Conor O’Brien

Two members of the Stevens Racing p/b The Cyclery teams have been recognized for their potential by the National Capital Region cycling bursary.

Ariane Bonhomme of the women’s team and Conor O’Brien of the men’s team were both awarded funding to help them meet their goals in 2013, the bursary committee announced Friday.

Much of the money for the bursary comes from local cyclists, and 36 up-and-coming riders have received a total of more than $33,000over the last 14 years. While the funding is a big help to the athletes, even more important is the knowledge that they enjoy the recognition and the backing of the local cycling community.

For more information on the bursary, visit the Seenite Sports website.